2015 Tinker’s Creek Watershed Festival

Tinker’s Creek Watershed Partners would like to invite you to mark your calendars for the 10th Annual Watershed Festival!

When: October 3, 2015
Time: 9 am to 1 pm
Where: University Hospital Ahuja Medical Center (3999 Richmond Rd, Beachwood, OH 44122)

This year’s festival is in collaboration with University Hospital Ahuja Medical Center will celebrate healthy watersheds for healthy communities!

Healthy Watersheds: the event will  include a special tour of the environmentally friendly practices at the medical center. The rarely provided behind the scene tours will happen at 1o am, 11 am, and noon and will last 30 minutes.

Healthy Communities: Learn about the efforts of local organizations to improve environmental health in the region. Also University Hospital will offer FREE cholesterol, blood glucose, body mass index, and blood pressure screenings.

The festival is FREE and has something for everyone in the family!

Exhibitors from around the region will offer information on protecting your watershed, stormwater, tree planting, recycling, composting, rain barrels, energy efficiency in homes, and organic landscaping. The event will also have live, family friendly music.

Would your company or organization like to have a table at the festival? Non-profit groups receive a free table, chair and tent cover, and the for-profit fee is only $10. Please contact Babette at [email protected] for more information.


2015 Ohio Stormwater Conference


Thank you to all those who attended the 2015 Ohio Stormwater Conference May 6-8 at the Kalahari Resort and Conference Center in Sandusky and made it a success. It was the largest one yet with over 730 attendees, 80 exhibitors, and 75 speakers. This makes the Ohio Stormwater Conference the largest state conference on stormwater in the nation. The 2016 conference will be at the Sharonville Convention Center May 4-6.

Visit the Conference Website by clicking here

The Ohio Conference was once again presented by Tinker’s Creek Watershed Partners and the Ohio Stormwater Association. This is the premier stormwater conference for the State of Ohio and region.

The tracks of concurrent sessions included:

  • Watershed Planning, Implementation and Restoration
  • Stormwater and MS4 Program Management
  • Monitoring, Modeling and Research
  • Stormwater Practice Planning and Design
  • Industrial Stormwater Management
  • Legal Issues in Stormwater and Watershed Management
  • Managing Stormwater in Transportation Projects
  • Reducing Combined Sewer Overflows

Opening Speaker: Karl Gebhardt joined the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency in April 2014 and will coordinate efforts addressing water quality resource issues related to harmful algae and other nutrient issues affecting Lake Erie and Ohio’s inland waters.

Keynote Speaker: G. Tracy Mehan, III is national Source Water Protection Coordinator for the U.S. Endowment for Forestry and Communities and Adjunct Professor at George Mason University School of Law.

For questions, please contact Harry Stark at [email protected]


TCWP Awarded Funds for Stream Restoration Planning

Tinker’s Creek Watershed Partners (TCWP) has been awarded a $50,000 Cuyahoga AOC Habitat Restoration Project Planning grant from the Ohio Environmental Protection Agency. Funds will be used to create  plans for habitat restoration projects in the watershed.

Four projects have been identified in Hudson, Streetsboro, and Warrensville Heights based on the Tinker’s Creek Watershed Action Plan (WAP), a state endorsed document that identifies the issues in the watershed and projects to improve watershed conditions. TCWP will work with watershed communities to identify three additional projects to receive restoration planning.

Full press release can be found here.


Free Workshop: New Year,  New Yard– Alternatives to the ‘Perfect’ Green Lawn

March 31, 2015, 6:30 pm
Beachwood Community Center (25325 Fairmount Blvd.)

Thank you to the attendees at the New Year, New Yard event. We had over 130 people in attendance to hear Anita Sanchez discuss her book, The Teeth of the Lion: The Story of the Beloved and Despised Dandelion. Sanchez is a professional educator who has more than twenty years of experience in providing classes and hands-on, participatory programs to a wide range of audiences. The event included a discussion on lawn care practices and how these practices have changed over time, focusing on reducing the use of chemicals to help improve soil and water health.


Upcoming Events

2015  is the Sustainable Cleveland 2019 Year of Water. There are many water related events happening regionally. See the link below for a calendar of events.

Rain Barrel Workshop–September 22, 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm, Macedonia City Hall
Watershed Festival–October 3, 9 am to 1 pm, UH Ahuja Medical Center, Beachwood
Cleveland Seed Bank Workshop–October 17, 11 am to 12:30 pm, Pierce Streetsboro Library

Tinker’s Creek Watershed Partners Meetings


Please contact Babette at [email protected] for meeting times and locations.

Thank you!


Davey Resource Group


Kurtz Bros
mar mac


Neenah Foundry